VISION BOARDS

posted by SHELLEY BRUCAR

You may have noticed that my posts are increasingly art-related, serene art of course, but no new serenity/stress management tools in a while.  Well ok, before we have a mass revolt, think about this – I’ve already given you most of the important ones!  Today, you get a new tool to add to your toolbox anyway.  This is a really fun activity that is appropriate any time, and maybe particularly applicable for the new year (look outside – it’s still January!).

This new tool is called a VISION BOARD, and it’s ths simple.  Gather a bunch of old magazines and cut out any images and words that appeal to you.  Don’t overthnk it; just cut out anything that speaks to you – no reasons needed.  Then take  poster board or a large sheet of paper, and tape/paste your words and images onto your background paper.  You’re going to feel like you’re back in kindergarten, and everythink was fun back then!  So allow the child in you to come out for a few hours.

Put your new Vision Board above your desk or anywhere you will see it daily.  Bacause this is a “right brain” activity, your vision board will inevitably include some of the things that are important to you, things you want to accomplish, things that make you feel good.  And here’s the best part – because your visions are in front of you daily, some of them are going to be realized.  It’s not magic.  It’s the gentle but constant reminder of what you want that will motivate you to take the steps you need to take to make these things happen.

Here’s the Vision Board I did wth my artist group about 18 months ago:

And here are the items I MADE HAPPEN since creating this Vision Board, things that were not planned at the time of “vision board creation:

I have a piece of work published in Lark Books, 500 Art Quilts.  I also have a piece in the Feb/March issue of Quilters Newsletter Magazine, and that wasn’t even on my Vision Board.

My husband and I have gone on two wonderful trips.  One to the Southwest where we spent time hiking in 2 national parks, Zion and Bryce.  Zion is now one of my favorite places on eath.  Our next trip was to Italy where we spent time in Tuscany, not enough time of course – must go back.  What a beautiful country!

I have spent alot of time at the Chicago Botanic Garden enjoying nature and scenery that changes regularly.  Every time I go there, things look different.

I’ve done alot of stitching.

I did not get a dog but, amazingly, my next-door-neighbors did get that exact yellow lab on MY Vision Board.  His name is Charlie, and I can play with him any time I need a dog fix.

Leave a comment

Filed under goals, vision

Leave a Reply

